Oh dear, I think we are lost! Houghton Bottoms Walk

04/29/2018

After reading about the Houghton Bottoms walk and double checking the route online, I set off with my friend for what was described as a "pleasant 6 mile circular walk" that had areas of uneven ground and although some parts are dog friendly (the canal) some of the stiles do not have access for dogs.

We parked at Riley Green and armed with the map, followed the directions down the country lane and through the field that brings you out at the canal. We stopped and sat on the embankment at the first bridge for a brew and took in the view along the water. Everything was going to well until we reached the Old Paper Mill, which we were directed to walk through however it was now gated off and a building site with no access. The directions didn't tell us the road that we were supposed to reach on the other side, just "a row of terraced houses that stop at 31" so we decided to walk up to the next canal bridge in the hopes that it would bring us out near to the original route. 

After reaching the road, we tried to search for the name of the paper mill but nothing came up, and we couldn't find a name of the road we should join so we continued to walk, and walk and walk..... so after 30 minutes we decided to stop in a field to have our dinner. Once we had eaten, we set off walking and within two minutes (I kid you not....) we found the terraced houses. Thankfully we were able to go back to the directions and walk along the River Darwen, spotting Roe Deer on the other side of the river having a drink. I commented to my friend that I was glad I had decided to leave Lily and Henry at home because I think it would have been too much for them, especially as my fitbit now showed we had walked 10 miles! We carried on over the wier, under the aquduct and along the railway line which eventually brought us out alongside Houghton Tower.

Once we reached the car, my fitbit showed that we had walked just over 11 miles which was double the original plan but it showed a true strength of our friendship. Later, I took Lily and Henry to the fields for a play taking my mileage up to 13.76 that day.

Walk 1000 miles for 2018 Challenge

Week 17 = 56.47 miles

Total miles since 1st January 2018 = 743.03

© 2018. Adventures of Lily and Henry. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started