A breezy walk along Granny's Bay

05/14/2018

It has been a while since we had a walk in Lytham, so after freeing up a few hours and packing a picnic, we set off in the car to the affectionatly named Granny's Bay. It is believed to have been named after Lady Clifton who regularly used to take her Grandchildren there although most people know it as Fairhaven. We parked at the far end of Fairhaven Lake and set off through the dunes and onto the beach.

All was going well, Henry was enjoying splashing in the few puddles that had been left behind by the receeding tide and Lily was enjoying the wind blowing through her ears as she ran along the beach. They are repairing the promenade to improve its structure so where I would usually have joined this, we carried on along the beach instead. Now, Henry and Lily are much lighter than I am so they were able to run across the wetter sand with ease whilst I would find my welly getting stuck in a few places so I felt like I had completed a legs, bums and tums class by the time we'd left this part of the beach!

We joined the path where the windmill is and decided to walk back across the grass instead of trudging through all the muddy sand from earlier. It was surprisingly quiet so they had the walk home along the promenade to themselves apart from the tractor who was cutting the grass. We rejoined the beach walk at Granny's Bay again where they got the labrador "second wind" and ran along the sand until we reached the car park.

I'm always trying to challenge myself with the 1000 miles challenge, and after completing the school run and the walk along Granny's Bay, I noticed that I wasn't far from walking 30,000 steps. I asked my friend if she fancied a walk that afternoon to pick up a few bits from the shops which added to my total for the day along with the school collection. I managed to walk 48,247 steps that day which is my highest daily step count. I'm not far from achieving the 1000 miles, which is theoretically to be achieved around December 2018, so watch this space to see where I walk my 1000th mile!

Walk 1000 miles for 2018 Challenge

Week 19 = 59.87 miles

Total miles since 1st January 2018 = 852.85

© 2018. Adventures of Lily and Henry. All rights reserved.
Powered by Webnode
Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started